Ricardo Almeida talks CFFC 6, UFC, his comeback

Ricardo AlmeidaRicardo “Big Dog” Almeida is making his return to MMA, and doing so via the CFFC cage. MMAWeekly recently caught up with the former King of Pancrase in a touching interview…

Notable comments from Almeida:

Joe Silva [UFC Matchmaker] invited me back to the UFC to be a part of TUF [The Ultimate Fighter] 4 for the chance to fight for the title. I remember Matt Serra called me and was like, “Let’s go together Big Dog; it will be like old times!” I loved fighting for the UFC, I think Dana [White, UFC President] and the Fertitta Brothers [Lorenzo and Frank, UFC Owners] are visionaries and revolutionaries, but 6 weeks away from my family [to tape the show] was a big turndown.

MMAWeekly: Why did you choose the CFFC over events such as the UFC, EliteXC or even the IFL?
Almeida: As far as why Cage Fury Fighting [Championships], there’s plenty of good reasons… CFFC is paying what I think is deserved of my time and dedication, as others agreed to as well, but again, that’s only one of the reasons… I always felt like I owed my students and local crowd a good live performance.
I instantly got along with CFFC President Felix Martinez, who made me a written proposal by email, and things just moved forward from there. So far it has been a great experience; I have a lot of faith in that organization. I think they are a great addition to the MMA scene.

I feel MMA is going through big evolution now, look at guys like Sean Sherk, Nick Diaz, Anderson Silva or Dan Henderson, they are amazing. I just want to be a part of this evolution, learn from being in there. Pressure — never! Motivation — tons!

CLICK HERE for the latest Cage Fury content.
CLICK HERE for the latest CFFC 6 content.

Leave a Reply

